Awards and Recognition

Annual Awards Gala

Each year, the Bainbridge Island Police Department hosts an awards gala where members of the department are recognized by their peers for notable accomplishments and exceptional service during the preceding year.  The list below reflects award winners who received recognition for performance during the 2016 calendar year:

2016 Officer of the Year Award:
Officer Gary Koon

2016 Civilian of the Year Award:
PEO Ken Lundgren

Meritorious Conduct Awards:
Officer Jonathan Bingham, Sergeant Trevor Ziemba

Exceptional Police Duty Awards:

Officer Dale Johnson, Officer Chuck Kazer, Officer Jon Ledbetter, Officer Cameron Lewis

Exceptional Civic Duty Awards:

Senior Police Clerk Kelly Eisenhood, Deputy Chief Jeffrey Horn, Detective Sergeant Scott Weiss


Officer Jeffrey Benkert (2), Detective Erik Peffer (2), Officer William Shields, Officer Michael Tovar, Sergeant Trevor Ziemba

Letters of Recognition:
Administrative Supervisor Barbara Burns, Reserve Officer Mark Crowthers, Sergeant Benjamin Sias, Detective Sergeant Scott Weiss, Sergeant Trevor Ziemba

Physical Fitness Awards:

Sergeant Ben Sias, Officer Jon Ledbetter, Officer Cameron Lewis, Detective Erik Peffer

Safe Driving Award (5-Year Increments):
Officer Gary Koon

Reserve Officer Recognition:

Mark Crowthers, Guy Roche, Matt Topham

Service Milestones:
5 Years - Reserve Officer Mark Crowthers, Officer Gary Koon
10 Years - Officer Jeffrey Benkert, Reserve Officer Matt Topham, Sergeant Trevor Ziemba

Kathy Dunn Memorial Service Award:

The Henry Family

Citizen Awards:  
Mark Bartholomew (Service), Matthew Coates (Good Samaritan), Isabelle Cobb (Support), Janice Danielsen (Support), Kevin Hay (Service), John Inch (Service), Rodney Sherwood (Service), Kevin Vandermeer (Service)